Tags

, , , , ,

“Come here,” she said again, her voice almost in a whisper. Mari felt compelled to come, not wanting to be another vampire’s toy. At least this way she had some semblance of control– as small as obscure as it may really be. As Mari approached her, she could hear the door behind her slam shut she turned around quickly and by the time she could turn back around the vampiress was in front of her.
“I don’t like being kept waiting,” she said. Her slow, deliberate speech began making Mari nervous.
“I-I’m sorry, m-my mistress. Please forgive me.”
Seemingly placated for the moment, the vampire returned to her seat almost as quickly as she got in Mari’s face. “Come,” she repeated. Mari almost ran over and sat beside her.
“What’s wrong? You look nervous.”
“I’m not used to female clients, that all.”
“Oh. Well you’re missing out. We are much more… delicate than our male counterparts,” she said. She began caressing her cheek slowly. “I’ll take really good care of you,” she pulled her close, licking the side of her neck and making sure to take a deep whiff of her scent. “Relax, my child. I will do no harm to you.” Mari suddenly began feeling more at ease. She was positive to this had to be with vampiress’s charm, but she didn’t care. This was the most calm she had been around a client in a long time. Maybe her prayers are finally being answered. Or maybe it was the calm before the storm.
“Yes, my mistress,” she repeated. “Do you want my blood now?” Mari said, her cheeks looked flushed. She lowered the collar of her kimono in anticipation.
“Not yet, but in time.” She licked her lips.
Mari looked confused. “What is it that you want from me then?”
“What do you think of the vampires here?”
“My masters take good care of me.”
“I mean the real answer.”
Mari felt that she was given back control of her body and the flushness and the redness of her cheeks left her. She seemed more at ease then she was just moments ago. She really wanted the real answer.
“Why?” Mari asked “Why do you want to know?”
“I’ve never been to this place before I admit. I’ve always been kind of curious.
“But why did you choose a female?”
“Because women are more fun. Their blood is more delicious to me.” Choosing not to force the issue further, Mari accepted the answer.
“This place– it scares me. I feel like everything I do is being carefully calculated that all of this is for nothing.”
“What do you want?”
“I-I don’t know,” Mari admitted. I just want to come out of what I have been, and I don’t want to be an orphan anymore. I want to feel powerful.” The vampire sat in silence for a while. She didn’t move an inch.
“Becoming one of us won’t make you powerful,” she said finally. “Most vampires die within the first five years.” It shook Mari to the core to hear that. Five years? Surely she thought she would live longer than that.
“Why? I thought you were immortal.”
“Vampires aren’t truly immortal. It’s true we don’t age, but nothing truly lives forever. Everything has an expiration point. Vampires just have longer. Well the potential for longer, anyway.”
“Why did you choose me?”
“Because I saw that you were the closest to have their contract ended. I just want to help you get out of this place. How long have you been here?
“Since I was eight.”
“How old are you, now?”
“16. 17. I don’t know for sure, but I have a pretty good guess.” The vampiress had a look of disgust on her face. “I’m sorry, mistress. I didn’t mean to anger you.”
“I’m not mad at you, child. This institution is disappointing in every sense of the word. Nothing but slavery.” The room went silent again.