Tags

, , , ,

One push-up.

Her father used to tell her ‘a healthy body is a healthy mind.’ Mari thought back to the times her father would tell her old proverbs and stories from his days as a wandering samurai. She would sit in his lap and listen intently as he wound one story after another all day. He was an excellent storytelling – to her anyway. That’s the only opinion that mattered to her. Both of her parents were good for telling stories, but her father would tell the best ones. Tales of valour and combat never ceased to amaze her. She wanted to be like that.

Five.

Maybe that’s why she was so drawn to Asami in the first place. She reminded her of her Father when it came to philosophies. She was always ready to stick up for those who were close to her. Just like her father.

Eight.

Mari admired that. She admired her.

Ten.

Maybe that’s why she tried to throw herself on the line when Kou was having trouble getting to the blood room. At one time, Mari would have just kept going straight ahead, probably disappointed that her fix was going to have to wait a few more weeks. She would have thought nothing about him. It was just about her.

Fifteen.

“She really has changed me. Now she’s gone.”

Twenty.

“I would’ve had to deal with it eventually anyway. Two more bites and I would never see her again.” She felt a pang deep in her stomach, but she pushed through. “I’ll never have to see her or anyone else again. I’ll be fine on my own!”

“You sure about that?”

Mari stopped and looked toward the entrance of the cell. “What do you want, Kou?”

“That’s not nice, Mari,” he said. “You mind if I come in?”

“You sure that’s a good idea? Don’t want you getting in trouble.”

“It’s okay. I just got off cleaning duty.” He walked into the cell and took a seat in the middle of the floor. Mari unrolled her kimono and moved to sit by him.

“Why are you here this time? It better be about my crucifix this time.”

“So antagonistic.” He jokingly scooted away from her. Mari just crossed her arms and let out a loud groan. “Okay, I get it, you just got drained. You’re not in the mood for games.”

“Thank you.”

“It’s about your crucifix.” Mari’s eyes lit up.

“Really? You know where it is?”
“Yeah, possibly.”
Mari slumped. “Possibly?”

“I’m ninety-five per cent sure I know where it is.”

“Where?” Mari leaned in forward in anticipation.

“It’s with that foreigner that saved you.”

“What?”

“Yeah. After you fell unconscious, he grabbed the crucifix and took it.”

“Why?”

“I don’t know. I thought he ended up giving it to you, but I guess not. You sure you don’t have it?”

“Yes, I’m sure. I couldn’t find it anywhere.”

“Damn.” Kou bit his fingernails. He jumped up and began to walk around. Mari laughed. “What’s so funny?”

“You always bite your nails when you’re planning something. It’s cute.”

“It’s not cute!”

Mari laughed again. “If you say so. What’s your plan?”

“We go upstairs of course. The foreigner is probably upstairs with the rest of the Masters. I say we just go there.”

“I hope you’re joking. That’s dangerous, and you know it.”

“Not exactly. We just have to not get caught.”

“That’s your brilliant plan? Sneak upstairs and not get caught?”

“Afraid so. Of course you know what happens if we get caught right?” Kou started biting his nails again.

“Unfortunately and guess what?”

“What?” Kou looked genuinely confused now. Mari frowned.

“It’s not worth it.”